$1 Million to Be Awarded Annually for Berggruen Philosophy Prize

The Berggruen Philosophy Prize will reward a living thinker whose ideas have deeply influenced our world. Numerous prizes are rightly awarded for invention and achievement in science and the arts, but few prizes recognize ideas that have broader philosophical and cultural impact. An independent and diverse jury composed of leading thinkers will award the prize. The first prize is expected to be awarded in the Fall of 2016. Stay tuned for more.

The Berggruen Philosophy Prize Jury Includes:

  • Gutmann, Amy
  • Yeo, George
  • Sen, Amartya
  • Appiah, Kwame Anthony
  • Damasio, Antonio
  • Borysiewicz, Leszek
  • Simmons, Alison
  • Wang Hui