An annual $1 million award for major achievements in advancing ideas that shape the world.

Whose ideas do you think are worth $1 million?
Click here to submit your nomination for the 2020 Berggruen Prize winner!

2019 Winner: Ruth Bader Ginsburg

The 2019 winner is Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg of the Supreme Court of the United States. Ginsburg is a lifelong trailblazer for human rights and gender equality. For more than 26 years, as the second woman appointed to the U.S. Supreme Court, she has authored several notable opinions, including United States v. Virginia, Olmstead v. L.C. and Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental Services, Inc. She has also penned notable dissents, among them, in Shelby County v. Holder, and Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company. Justice Ginsburg has been a constant voice for justice, equal and accessible to all.

Ruth Bader Ginsburg has received numerous awards, including the American Bar Association’s highest honor, the ABA Medal, also the Thurgood Marshall Award, as well as the Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award. Additional honors include the Genesis Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Jewish Culture in Sweden’s Gilel Storch Award, in recognition for her contributions to gender equality and civil rights. In 1971, she co-founded the Women’s Rights Project of the American Civil Liberties Union, and served as the ACLU’s General Counsel, 1973–1980, and on the National Board of Directors, 1974–1980. Ginsburg was appointed a Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in 1980. Together with Herma Hill Kay and Kenneth Davidson, she authored the first law school textbook on sex-based discrimination. In 2018, Ginsburg was the subject of two critically acclaimed films, the documentary, RBG, and the biopic, On the Basis of Sex. My Own Words, a collection of her writings dating back to her grade school years, was published in 2016.

Image Caption: Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Collection of the Supreme Court of the United States

2018 Winner: Martha Craven Nussbaum

Martha C. Nussbaum has taken her transformative work as an academic philosopher into public debates about key questions of national and global political significance, making her one of the world’s leading public philosophers. Motivated by the desire to understand the conditions for well being in light of the complexity of human existence, she has used the power of literature to reveal and explore the central place of the emotions: vulnerability, anger and fear in moral and political life. A major theme of Nussbaum’s recent work has been the development of the philosophical foundations and practical applications of the “capability approach” to welfare economics. This approach provided a major impetus for the development by the United Nations of its Human Development Index (HDI), which takes into account not only income but also life-expectancy and education; and the use of the HDI has significantly shaped policy and practice around the globe. Nussbaum’s feminist commitment to the equality of women is evident in this, as in all her work.

2017 Winner: Onora Sylvia O’Neill

Baroness O’Neill of Bengarve was the recipient of the 2017 Berggruen Prize for Philosophy and Culture. Her work has elevated the quality of public life and improved the very vocabulary of public discourse. Professor O’Neill combines pure theory—particularly, but not solely, of the Kantian kind—with its practical enactment. As a result, her service has been both intellectual and political. She has served the United Kingdom as the chair of its Equality and Human Rights Commission, as chair of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics and as a member of the Human Genetics Advisory Commission, all of which play central roles in formulating and implementing just policy. Her public service has been acknowledged by many civil honors, in Britain and elsewhere, including appointment to the House of Lords.


2016 Winner: Charles Taylor

The inaugural recipient of the Berggruen Prize was the distinguished Canadian philosopher Charles Taylor, whose work urges us to see humans as constituted not only by their biology or their personal intentions but also by their existence within language and webs of meaningful relationships. Taylor’s work exemplifies the importance of philosophy that reaches beyond narrow disciplinary boundaries and has been influential in political science, sociology, anthropology, literature and the study of religion as well as in philosophy. A leading public intellectual in Quebec, in Canada and around the world, Taylor has been a voice for political unity that respects cultural diversity.


The Prize Jury

In 2020, philosopher Yuk Hui joined the Jury. Kwame Anthony Appiah is the Jury Chairman and Craig Calhoun is the Senior Advisor overseeing the Berggruen Prize.